birthboobsandbabes

Just another WordPress.com site

I Can’t Steer a Parked Car September 11, 2012

Naomi is 9 months old. 9 months is the age Caleb was when I made peace over losing my nursing relationship with him. I could simply say, I passed my goal of 6 months, we overcame the worst of the difficulties regarding the tongue tie, things are “okay.” But, I will not settle for “okay”.

Why should I force her to compensate? Why should I put her lungs at greater risk of aspiration, why allow artificial nipples to ruin her oral development, why feed her formula and mess with her delicate little gut? Why not shoot for the best? I have waffled over this for 2 months. No more pondering or second guessing. I choose to push forward. “You can’t steer a parked car.” So I turn the key, and press the gas. My tank often runs near empty…but, I never run out.

I started domperidone for milk supply today. Tomorrow I begin pumping and Naomi has a weight check. Wednesday we will attempt exclusive breastfeeding. Friday we will check milk transfer with an IBCLC. We will continue suck training exercises and craniosacral therapy as we are able. If there is a bump in the road or we take a wrong turn, we will re-route; but, I refuse to take my foot off the gas. At this point I do not know our destination – the earth is round. There is no telling just how far we can go, so I am driving.

 This is her face after nursing, which she now calls, “nun-nun.”

 

One Response to “I Can’t Steer a Parked Car”

  1. Angela Lang Says:

    You’re doing great momma. She will thank you one day for working so had to get the best for her. Keep it up even through the potholes of the journey. Hugs. 🙂


Leave a Reply

