birthboobsandbabes

Just another WordPress.com site

Big Gain! August 15, 2012

Go ahead and ask me: “How did your baby suddenly gain weight so well after months of sliding down the growth charts?”

The simple  question, “why isn’t she gaining?” introduced me to the complex answer that led to our solution, and delicious FAT on Naomi’s baby thighs for the first time since birth – at 8 months old.

Here are the problems and solutions:

1) Not transferring enough milk during feeds

Adding formula to expressed milk and/or mixing formula to 24 calories (under a doctor’s direction) and “topping off” with a bottle after breastfeeding

Releasing posterior tongue tie and upper lip tie

2) Allergies causing diarrhea and reflux

Eliminating allergens from my diet (cow dairy, soy, corn, gluten)

Switching to a high calorie homemade formula with no ingredients she is allergic too (more info below)

3) Still burning more calories than she was taking in after PTT release

Craniosacral therapy to release muscle tension associated with the ties

4) Low milk supply – likely because of the ties which were not properly revised until Naomi was 5 months

Fennel tea for me (I took domperidone prior to the PTT release and craniosacral therapy)

Pumping after feeds

Weighing Naomi before and after feedings every 2 weeks to estimate supply and transfer so she is not over supplemented

Many people ask me about homemade formula. It is my recommendation that you do your own research and find (or create) a recipe that is best for you and your child. I chose goat milk because Naomi is allergic to cow milk, I chose ingredients I can afford, feel are safe, can easily obtain, and are calorie dense. I started giving it to her at 6 months in addition to breastmilk – she was old enough to eat solid food, so it really is not much different, other than I give it to her in a bottle! I started making the formula with pasteurized goat milk and switched to raw because I researched and felt that was a healthier decision for my baby.

I am just a mom trying to help her baby – everyone should do their own research before trying any homemade formula recipe. I also recommend using another mother’s breastmilk whenever possible, we could not because of Naomi’s many food sensitivities.

 Naomi, 8 months, 15 pounds – up 7 lbs 1 oz from her lowest weight – the awesome part being that most of that growth has been in the past month! Notice the fat around her elbows, cheeks, and thighs – she had never had any extra fat! So exciting and beautiful! She is crawling around on the playground here – after her revision and craniosacral therapy she has been excelling with her motor skills as well!

 Proud moment for us both!

 

Leave a Reply

